• BIG WAVE WIPE OUT and Performance Nominees Announced in Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards 2012‏

The nominees in three popular categories of 2012 Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards fueled by Monster Energy have been revealed, adding to the momentum as the awards show approaches for big wave surfing's premier annual event. The top five finalists for the Verizon Wipeout of the Year, the Surfline Best Overall Performance (male) and Billabong Girls Performance (female) awards can be viewed on the event website at www.BillabongXXL.com, and ballots will be going out to the the surfing world's top riders, photographers and journalists this week to determine the winners. The nominees have already been unveiled for the Ride of the Year, XXL Biggest Wave, Monster Paddle and Monster Tube divisions, representing over $120,000 in prizes for the surfer and photographer winners.

Verizon Wipeout Nominees - Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards 2012

In contention for the famed Verizon Wipeout of the Year honors are five surfers at four notorious big wave breaks sprinkled around the world. Brazilians Felipe Cesarano and Rodrigo Koxa are well in the running for their horrific missteps at Teahupoo in Tahiti. Australian Mark Mathews is in for his dead-end wave at The Right in Western Australia. Local Danny Griffith is contending for his stumble at the base of a stair-stepping beast at Tasmania's Shipstern Bluff and Hawaii's Garrett McNamara is nominated for his imitation of a skipping stone down the face of a bomb at Jaws, on the north shore of Maui. (This is McNamara's third nomination this year, along with Ride of the Year and XXL Biggest wave nods for his huge wave in Portugal.)


Danny Griffith - Shipstern

Felipe C
Felipe Cesarano - Teahupoo

Garret M
Garrett McNamara - Jaws

Mark M
Mark Mathews

Rodrigo Koxa - Teahupoo

Also announced today are the nominees for the best overall performance categories. According to the rules of the Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards, these divisions will be won by the "surfer who puts on the greatest number of outstanding performances at the most diverse number of venues over the course of the entire year. Excellence in the water and leadership in safety in both paddle-in and tow-in surfing disciplines will be considered." Essentially the "world champion" award for year-round excellence, on the men's side the nominees for the Surfline Best Overall Performance Award are Hawaiians Kohl Christensen, Shane Dorian and Mark Healey, along with Californians Nathan Fletcher and Greg Long. Check the video clip featuring representative moments of each surfer's fantastic year

Surfline Mens Performance Nominees - Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards 2012

On the female side, the Billabong Girls Performance Award nominees include Hawaii's Paige Alms and Keala Kennelly, Brazil's Maya Gabeira and Silvia Nabuco, and California's Savannah Shaughnessy. Cick here for the videos and images featuring all the best women's big wave surfing action of the last year.

The winners of all the categories of this year's event will be announced at the invitation-only Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards party at the Grove Theater in Anaheim, California on May 4, 2012. The show will be webcast that night on YouTube's Network A, and will be broadcast as a one-hour program on FUEL TV on Sunday, May 20 at 3 P.M. PT. This year's event marks the 12th-annual edition of the Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards, an event open to every qualified surfer at every break on every day of the year, so long as the action is captured by a video or still camera and submitted for judging by the XXL's voting academy of expert surfers and lensmen. Over 1,000 images were entered into the event before being filtered down to the definitive images of each nominated ride.

The final nominees for 2012, in alphabetical order:

(Surfer prize $2,000 - Video prize $1,000)
Felipe Cesarano